Born 1971 in Odense, Denmark. Lives and works in Copenhagen, Denmark
I am presently enrolled at The Social and Health Care School, Copenhagen, Denmark, studying to become a health visitor. My dream is to one day become a nurse – God willing – but the future will show how far I'll go. In my spare time, I work as a volunteer in the organization ISRA – Independent Scandinavian Relief Agency (see ISRA is a relief agency and I work in the department for orphan children. I'm also involved in a newly established project called Micro Funding, which works to help people help themselves. This year, I spoke during one of the many demonstrations against the war in Iraq and at a demonstration against the ban of veils. Last but not least, I spoke on the topic of racism on May 1 at Blaagaard's Plads in Noerrebro, Copenhagen. I have been a panelist on two panel discussions, organized by International Socialists in Copenhagen, on the topic of Islam and bridge-building to non-Muslims. I readily give interviews to students, who are doing thesis work on Islam. To me, it's very important that non-Muslims get the opportunity to gain knowledge of Islam from Muslims so they don't acquire their knowledge from the news solely, which mostly focus on negative aspects. I have a very dear hobby – horseback riding. I own a beautiful Arabian horse stabled in the countryside, which I ride daily. There are not a lot of Muslim girls/women interested in horseback riding (unfortunately), so it's a bit funny to watch people's reactions when they see a Muslim woman on a horse for the first time. I wish that more Muslim children could experience horses.
Contribution: Participates in the youth hearing “What Would You Do If You Became Minister of Integration?” on Saturday, October 23, 2004, from 3 – 7 pm in Station 1: The Equestrian Hall, Aarhus.